President Buhari appoints new Staff Officers as old ones resign

President Buhari announces

On Tuesday, January 26, Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari announced the appointment of new service chiefs following the resignation of their predecessors.

In a tweet from his official Twitter account, the Nigerian leader noted that he acknowledged the service chiefs’ immediate resignation and their removal from service.

Those involved are General Abayomi Olonisakin, Chief of Defense Staff; Lt-Gen., Chief of Army Staff; Tukur Buratai; Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas, Chief of the Naval Staff; and Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar, Chief of the Air Staff.

In a statement signed by the presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, the appointments were announced and posted on his Facebook page.

CHECK THIS OUT:  Barbie stands against Rascim

The president proceeded to thank the outgoing chiefs of service who were named back in 2015 for their overwhelming successes in efforts to offer the country lasting peace and wished them well in future efforts.

Though congratulating the new chiefs of service, Buhari urged them to be obedient and committed to performing their duties.
The appointment is coming after many Nigerians, influential figures, groups urged Buhari to sack the military chiefs following the spate of insecurity across the country.

CHECK THIS OUT:  The Endsars Protest

Remember that the tragic death of 43 rice farmers in the Jere local government area of Borno state prompted a new demand for President Buhari to sack the service chiefs because of the worsening insecurity in the country.

Later, President Buhari eventually acknowledged that Nigeria’s security chiefs’ efforts against the insurgency were not adequate.

In a meeting held with the service chiefs at the Presidential Villa in Abuja on Thursday, December 17, 2020, the president made this clear.

In the battle against insurgents in the region, Buhari lamented the abysmal performance of the heads of security agencies.

CHECK THIS OUT:  Kuwaiti emir names top security official as Crown prince

The new Service chiefs are:

1. Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff

2. Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff

3. Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff

4. Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff


What’s your Reaction?

Upload Your Song on Wegotrend


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here